Research activities

Main involvement:

  • SKA project (Square Kilometer Array) in collaboration with the Kalray company and AUT (NZ).
  • Computer vision in collaboration with the University of Auckland (NZ)
  • COMPACT SL-Models project with Pr. Shuvra S. Bhattacharyya (University of Maryland, USA), Pr. Ta-Sung Lee (National Chung Tiao University, Taiwan) and Pr. Marilyn Wolf (Georgia Tech., USA).
  • Associate Editor for the Springer Journal of Signal Processing Systems (JSPS)
  • French research society GDR ISIS, C theme entitled “adequation algorithm architecture”,
  • European Network of Excellence on High Performance and Embedded Architecture and Compilation (HiPEAC),
  • 4 founded national projects including the COMPA project (leader),
  • 1 European project (CERBERO) Cross-layer modEl-based fRamework for multi-oBjective dEsign of Reconfigurable systems in unceRtain hybRid envirOnments. 2017-2020.
  • more than 10 research agreements with industrial partners,
  • the ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/ WG11 standardization (better known as MPEG),
  • the Multicore Task Management Working Group (MTAPI) of the Multicore Association.

PhD supervision (19 including 3 in progress)

  • 2002-2006   M. Raulet (40%), Co-supervision with O. Déforges (40%) and Y. Sorel (20% – INRIA Rocquencourt France). Current position as Research engineer at INSA Rennes.
  • 2004-2007   Fabrice Urban (60%), Co- supervision with O. Déforges (40%). Current position as Research engineer at Technicolor.
  • 2005-2008   Ghislain Roquier (60%), Co- supervision with O. Déforges (40%). Current position as post-doc at EPFL (Switzerland).
  • 2006-2009   Pengcheng Mu (30%). Co- supervision with J. Ronsin (10%) et JG Cousin (60%). Current position as Assistant Professor at the “School of Electronics and Information Engineering”, Université de Xi’an Jiaotong (China).
  • 2007-2010   Maxime Pelcat (35%), Co- supervision with O. Déforges (30%) and M. Raulet (35%). Current position as Assistant Professor at INSA Rennes.
  • 2007-2010   Matthieu Wipliez (35%), Co- supervision with O. Déforges (30%) and M. Raulet (35%). Current position as CTO of Synflow SAS (
  • 2007-2010   Jonathan Piat. (35%), Co- supervision with O. Déforges (30%) and M. Raulet (35%). Current position as Assistant Professor at IUT GEII of Toulouse (France).
  • 2008-2011   Nicolas Siret (60%-supervisor). Co- supervision with O.Déforges (30%). Current position as CEO of Synflow SAS (
  • 2009-2012   Manel Hentati (100% in France). International Co-supervision with ENIS Sfax, Tunisia (Pr. M. Abid, et Dr. Y. Aoudni).
  • 2010-2013   Jinglin Zhang (100%).
  • 2011-2014   Karol Desnos (40%). Co- supervision with M. Pelcat.
  • 2012-2015   Julien Heulot (60%). Co- supervision with M. Pelcat .
  • 2014-2016 Judicael Menant (33%). Co-supervision with L. Morin and M. Pressigout
  • 2015-2018 Julien Hascoet with Kalray. Co-supervision with K. Desnos.
  • 2015-2018 Hamza Deroui with Alix Munier (LIP6) and K. Desnos.
  • 2016-2019 Ahmed Kammoun. Co-supervision with W. Hamidouche. International Co-supervision with ENIS Sfax, Tunisia (Pr. M. Masmoudi)
  • 2017-2020 Alexandre Honorat with K. Desnos.
  • 2019-2022 Hugo Miomandre with D. Ménard
  • 2019-2022 Naouel HAGGUI. Co-supervision with W. Hamidouche. International    Co-supervision with ENIS Sfax, Tunisia (Pr. M. Masmoudi)


  • Architecture research at the IETR Vaader Team
  • Participation to the MPEG normalization process since 2007, including an active involvement in the MPEG RVC (Reconfigurable Video Coding) working group.
  • Setting-up and participation to French collaborative projects :  CPER Palmyre (2000-2005), DGE Mobimage (2005-2007), DGE Scalimage (2006-2008), FUI8 SVC4QoE (2009-2011), setting-up of the MODAE company (fond de maturation région Bretagne – 2009), ANR COMPA (2011-2015)
  • 8 industrial partnership including 3 PhDs.
  • Reviewer for several journals (IEEE TCSVT, Springer JSPS et JRTIP, Eurasip) and conferences (Gretsi, CORESA, DASIP).
  • Member of the « Commission de Spécialistes section 61 »»  at INSA de Rennes since 2005, including the participation to the recruitment of several Assistant Professors and Professors at INSA Rennes, UBS Lorient (France) and the University of Toulouse (France).
  • Member of the organization committee of JISE’06 and the IEEE European conference DASIP’07 and DASIP’09
  • Organization of METODO 2014 (1st Workshop on MEthods and TOols for Dataflow PrOgramming)
  • Member of steering committee of international conferences DASIP and EDERC.
  • Program Co-Chair of DASIP 2010
  • Organization of special sessions during DASIP 2011 and DASIP 2012.
  • Co-animation of the « Gdr ISIS thème C outils et systèmes » since 2005. Organization of 7 one-day workshops (10/2005, 03/2005, 09/2006, 05/2008, 09/2009, 01/2013, 09/2013)
  • 16 PhD jurys (8 at INSA Rennes, 6 as reviewer and 2 as president)
  • 1 DRT jury of (Examiner) and 3 VAE jurys (Reviewer)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *